So You Want to Be a Writer: A Year in the Life.

So You Want To Be A Writer

I came across this beautiful documentary chronicling the final year of J.K. Rowling’s writing process for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. It is the most in depth I’ve ever seen any journalist get with Ms. Rowling, and I implore you to watch the whole documentary, paying special attention to the final video. This is what many writers go through in their lives, even though the hope of being as successful as Ms. Rowling is very slim.

We still write. We have to write, even when our world crumbles around us.

17 thoughts on “So You Want to Be a Writer: A Year in the Life.

    1. Junebugger, this affected me the same way. It makes you think of just what you’ll do if you want to have your voice heard above the loud noises of the crowd. Even when you are all alone, completely broke, in a one bedroom flat with no food in the fridge, and no clue how you are going to make ends meet…with all of your head and heart invested into the project you know you must go on and write the best story you can. I’m so happy this inspired you. Make us all proud! πŸ™‚

      1. I think it would be so much more difficult though when writing a book, knowing that it isn’t just for the pleasure of it, but to make ends meet. I think, had I been in her situation, I might not have stayed true to myself. I would have written not the story my heart wanted to tell, but would have written while wondering what the readers would want to read. I would likely have compromised my vision for the sake of making money :/ I guess this is why people tell me that I should not make writing my career…..But I seriously can’t imagine doing anything else but write. Maybe I’ll be a part-time librarian? *Sigh* Easier said than done. Luckily, I still have a few years on me to decide

      2. I think, if you are planning to write a series, write all of the books in secret and at once. Become a part-time hermit. And I can imagine that the pressure would me insurmountable for someone like J.K. Rowling. Think of Stephenie Meyer as well. Part of her unfinished manuscript of Midnight Sun was leaked on the internet—by a trusted friend, no less—and now she is under so much pressure to finish it, even the lead singer of The Fray is begging her to finish it. And sadly, she won’t touch it again until everyone has forgotten about it. I hate to say it, but Midnight Sun from Edward Cullen’s perspective was WAY more intense and likeable than any of her published works.
        As for being a part-time librarian…find a job where you can day dream and plot on scrap paper without getting in trouble! πŸ™‚ (This is actually how I wrote an ENTIRE manuscript—on scrap paper at work!)

  1. She is one woman who really deserves her success. I loved the documentary, Rose, thanks for sharing it. I got quite teary towards the end there, especially when she went back to the old flat where she wrote the first Harry Potter.
    Great post.

    1. Me, too. That’s the whole reason I posted this particular documentary. I never really knew much about her except for her divorce and she was nearly broke and in order to make sense of her world she wrote Harry Potter when her daughter slept in the afternoons. It’s a great story, one that she HADN’T meant to write.

  2. I love this video I like to watch it over and over again. I had seen this before on TV. And ever since then I have been looking for this particular video. And one day I accidentally stumbled upon it.
    Thanks for sharing it.

    1. Thanks Amanda! The Milk Fever review is on its way soon, I promise! It is worth the wait as this book is AMAZING. I read half of it in 2 hours too. Manuscript revisions, deadlines, critiques, and book launch events have all gotten in the way of finishing the book and writing my review! Thank you for your patience—you are divine! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

