Review: Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer

Book Reviews

 

“Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex”

By Eoin Colfer

Original Publication Date: August 3, 2010 

Library Copy 

Hyperion Books for Children

Overall Grade: 4 out of 5 stars (****)

 

 In the seventh Artemis Fowl title, the 15-year-old mastermind focuses his ingenuity on global warming while struggling with a devastating illness. After Artemis invites four fairy friends to Iceland for a demonstration of his latest invention, the Ice Cube, it becomes clear that he is suffering from the Atlantis Complex, which manifests as obsessive-compulsive behavior, paranoia, and multiple personalities. If this weren’t enough to worry about, a spaceship crashes and disgorges amorphobots programmed to kill. Colfer keeps the action moving with laughs and gadgetry as he bounces between several plotlines that spotlight peripheral characters.

 Synopsis Courtesy of Amazon.com

  

One of my favorite Christmas presents I ever received was Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident along with The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein. Now, I was just a wee young thing, and only recently discovering the Young Adult genre when I got the Arctic Incident. I hadn’t read the first, so I bought Artemis Fowl that same night and devoured it. There was technology, fairies, child geniuses, and criminal intrigue!

Oh my…

The Atlantis Complex was a little on the strange side, even for Colfer. Artemis has a sappy, alter-ego named Orion? I laughed aloud several times when “Orion” kept professing his love to Holly and calling Foaly a noble steed. I wish there had been a little bit of a relapse for Artemis back into crime, as that is part of his appeal…A child genius and criminal mastermind. But there was a lot to pay attention to in regards to “which Artemis” was speaking or operating at each point.

The Artemis Fowl series never disappoints. Eoin Colfer is a brilliant writer who manages to use very technologically-conscious elements in his writing that is never “dumbed down” for readers. He succeeds in making every reader feel highly intelligent and able to understand the technology that the Fairy population uses without being superior about it. I admire his writing style for making his stories so seamlessly gripping, and I cannot wait for the next installment.


One thought on “Review: Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer

  1. I finally got my hands on the third installment of the Artemis Fowl series. I am so behind! So far, I love what I have read, and I can’t wait to actually complete the series.

    I thought the Hobbit was pretty fantastic too, but I never did quite appreciate the Lord of the Rings series. I’ve been thinking of giving it another go one of these days.

Leave a Reply

